Miller Center

American President

Richard Nixon (1913–1994)

Portrait of Richard Nixon

Facts at a Glance

37th President of the United States (1969–1974)
January 9, 1913, in Yorba Linda, California
Full Name
Richard Milhous Nixon
Whittier College (1934); Duke University Law School (1937)
Society of Friends (Quaker)
Thelma “Patricia” Catherine Ryan (1912–1993), on June 21, 1940
Patricia (1946– ); Julie (1948– )
Lawyer, Public Official
Political Party
Six Crises (1962); RN (1978); The Real War (1980); Leaders (1982); Real Peace (1983); No More Vietnams (1985); 1999:Victory without War (1988); In the Arena (1990); Seize the Moment (1992); Beyond Peace (1994)
April 22, 1994, in New York, NY
Yorba Linda, CA
A Life in Brief
Schoolchildren absorb at least one fact about Richard Milhous Nixon: He was the first and (so far) the only President of the United States to resign the office. Before the spectacular fall, there was an equally spectacular rise. More »

Address to the Nation Announcing Decision To Resign the Office of President (August 08, 1974)

Presidential Speech Archive

Essays on Richard Nixon and His Administration

Richard Milhous Nixon
A Life in Brief
Life Before the Presidency
Campaigns and Elections
Domestic Affairs
Foreign Affairs
Life After the Presidency
Family Life
Impact and Legacy
Key Events
First Lady
Thelma Nixon
Vice President
Spiro T. Agnew (1969–1973)
Gerald Ford (1973–1974)
Secretary of State
William P. Rogers (1969–1973)
Henry Kissinger (1973–1974)
Secretary of Defense
Melvin R. Laird (1969–1973)
James R. Schlesinger (1973–1974)
Elliot L. Richardson (1973)
Postmaster General
Winton M. Blount (1969–1971)
Secretary of Agriculture
Clifford M. Hardin (1969–1971)
Earl L. Butz (1971–1974)
Secretary of Labor
George P. Shultz (1969–1970)
James D. Hodgson (1970–1973)
Peter J. Brennan (1973–1974)
Secretary of Housing and Urban Development
George W. Romney (1969–1973)
James T. Lynn (1973–1974)
Attorney General
John N. Mitchell (1969–1972)
Richard G. Kleindienst (1972–1973)
Elliot L. Richardson (1973)
William B. Saxbe (1974)
Secretary of the Treasury
David M. Kennedy (1969–1971)
John B. Connally (1971–1972)
George P. Shultz (1972–1974)
William E. Simon (1974)
Secretary of the Interior
Walter J. Hickel (1969–1970)
Rogers C. B. Morton (1971–1974)
Secretary of Commerce
Maurice H. Stans (1969–1972)
Peter G. Peterson (1972–1973)
Frederick B. Dent (1973–1974)
Secretary of Transportation
John A. Volpe (1969–1973)
Claude S. Brinegar (1973–1974)
Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare
Robert Finch (1969–1970)
Elliot L. Richardson (1970–1973)
Caspar Weinberger (1973–1974)

Consulting Editor: Ken Hughes

Mr. Hughes coordinates the team of scholars reviewing and transcribing President Richard M. Nixon’s White House tapes, as part of the Presidential Recordings Project at the Miller Center of Public Affairs at the University of Virginia.