Miller Center

American President

Theodore Roosevelt (1858–1919)

Portrait of Theodore Roosevelt

Facts at a Glance

26th President of the United States (1901–1909)
October 27, 1858, New York, New York
“TR”, “Trust-Buster”, “Teddy”
Harvard College (graduated 1880)
Dutch Reformed
October 27, 1880, to Alice Hathaway Lee (1861–1884), December 2, 1886, to Edith Kermit Carow (1861–1948)
Alice Lee (1884–1980), Theodore (1887–1944), Kermit (1889–1943), Ethel Carow (1891–1977), Archibald Bulloch (1894–1979), Quentin (1897–1918)
Author, Lawyer, Public Official
Political Party
The Naval War of 1812 (1882), The Winning of the West (1889-96), African Game Trails (1910), Autobiography (1913), America and the World War (1915)
January 6, 1919, Oyster Bay, New York
Young’s Memorial Cemetery, Oyster Bay, New York
A Life in Brief
Theodore Roosevelt, who came into office in 1901 and served until 1909, is considered the first modern President because he significantly expanded the influence and power of the executive office. From the Civil War to the turn of the twentieth century, the seat of power in the national government resided in the U.S. Congress. Beginning in the 1880s, the executive branch gradually increased its power. More »
Much has been given us, and much will rightfully be expected from us. We have duties to others and duties to ourselves; and we can shirk neither. We have become a great nation, forced by the fact of its greatness into relations with the other nations of the earth, and we must behave as beseems a people with such responsibilities.
March 4, 1905

Essays on Theodore Roosevelt and His Administration

Theodore Roosevelt
A Life in Brief
Life Before the Presidency
Campaigns and Elections
Domestic Affairs
Foreign Affairs
Life After the Presidency
Family Life
The American Franchise
Impact and Legacy
Key Events
First Lady
Edith Roosevelt
Vice President
Charles W. Fairbanks
Secretary of State
John M. Hay (1901–1905)
Elihu Root (1905–1909)
Robert Bacon (1909–1909)
Secretary of the Treasury
Lyman J. Gage (1901–1902)
Leslie M. Shaw (1902–1907)
George B. Cortelyou (1907–1909)
Attorney General
Philander C. Knox (1901–1904)
William H. Moody (1904–1906)
Charles J. Bonaparte (1906–1909)
Secretary of the Interior
Ethan A. Hitchcock (1901–1907)
James R. Garfield (1907–1909)
Secretary of the Navy
John D. Long (1901–1902)
Paul Morton (1904–1905)
William H. Moody (1904–1906)
Charles J. Bonaparte (1905–1906)
Victor H. Metcalf (1906–1908)
Truman H. Newberry (1908–1905)
Secretary of War
Elihu Root (1901–1904)
William H. Taft (1904–1908)
Luke Wright (1908–1909)
Postmaster General
Charles E. Smith (1901–1902)
Henry C. Payne (1902–1904)
Robert J. Wynne (1904–1905)
George B. Cortelyou (1905–1907)
George von Lengerke Meyer (1907–1909)
Secretary of Agriculture
James Wilson (1901–1909)
Secretary of Commerce and Labor
George B. Cortelyou (1903–1904)
Victor H. Metcalf (1904–1906)
Oscar S. Straus (1906–1909)

Consulting Editor: Sidney Milkis

Professor Milkis is the White Burkett Miller Professor of Politics at the University of Virginia and Assistant Director for Academic Programs at the Miller Center of Public Affairs. His writings include:

American Government: Balancing Democracy and Rights (Co-authored with Marc Landy, McGraw-Hill, 2004)

Presidential Greatness (Co-authored with Marc Landy, University Press of Kansas, 2000)

Progressivism and the New Democracy (Co-edited with Jerome Mileur, University of Massachusetts Press, 1999)

The American Presidency: Origins and Development, 1776–1990 (Co-authored with Michael Nelson, CQ Press, 1990)