Miller Center

Presidential Image Gallery

President Nixon with Apollo 13 Astronauts

April 18, 1970
Source: National Archives

On April 18, 1970, President Richard Nixon awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom to the astronauts of Apollo 13, from left, Fred Haise, James Lovell, and John “Jack” Swigert.  The astronauts successfully landed the previous day after a dramatic space flight which included aborting their moon landing following a dangerous onboard explosion. 

← Return to Richard Nixon Gallery