Presidential Image Gallery

President Reagan Taking the Oath of Office

January 20, 1981
Source: National Archives

On January 20, 1981, Ronald Reagan was sworn into office as the 40th President of the United States. The oath was administered by Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, Warren Berger, front right, while Nancy Reagan, front center, Vice President George H. W. Bush, far left, Barbara Bush, second from left, and predecessor President Jimmy Carter, third from left, looked on.  

← Return to Ronald Reagan Gallery