Miller Center

Presidential Image Gallery

President Roosevelt in the Oval Office

November 30, 1934
Source: National Archives

In 1935, President Franklin Roosevelt launched the Second New Deal, the second set of the post-Great Depression recovery package. The three major initiatives of the Second New Deal included the Wagner Act to guarantee rights to labor unions, the Works Progress Administration to increase employment, and the Social Security Act to boost the welfare state in the United States.

← Return to Franklin D. Roosevelt Gallery