Miller Center

Presidential Image Gallery

The Continental Congress

Source: The Library of Congress

The leaders of the Continental Congress include, from left, John Adams, Robert Morris, Alexander Hamilton, and Thomas Jefferson. In 1774 and 1775, Adams was elected to the First and Second Continental Congress as a representative from the state of Massachusetts. Adams served on more committees than any other congressman—ninety in all, of which he chaired twenty.

← Return to John Adams Gallery