Miller Center

Rutherford B. Hayes Papers (1822 - 1893)

↑ Rutherford B. Hayes Front Page

Rutherford B. Hayes

Rutherford B. Hayes left a voluminous collection of papers which have been produced in microfilm by the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center. The microfilm collection is available at a number of institutions throughout the United States; please contact the Scripps Library for more information about its location and availability. In addition to Hayes's papers, two editions of his diary are available. The first, published in 5 volumes, intersperses selected Hayes correspondence among the diary entries. The 5 volumes cover the years 1830-1892 and the editor makes corrections to punctuation and spelling. Hayes: The Diary of a President covers the years 1875-1881 and is based on the original manuscript and, thus, includes grammatical errors and crossed out words.

  • Papers of Rutherford Birchard Hayes (Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center, 301 reels).
  • Diary and Letters of Rutherford Birchard Hayes (1830-1892) 5 vols.
  • Hayes: The Diary of a President 1875-1881 1 vol.

For the official papers of Hayes during his Presidency, see James Richardson's Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents. This retrospective compilation was published in several different editions. The final edition was published in 1918 in 20 volumes. This edition covers the Presidencies of Washington through Taft and includes a significant portion of Wilson's Presidency. The contents of the Compilation are typically limited to official proclamations, addresses, and messages.

← American President front page