Miller Center

George Washington Papers (1732 - 1799)

↑ George Washington Front Page

George Washington

A comprehensive collection of George Washington papers is currently being published by the University of Virginia Press. The Washington Papers have been produced in two stages. Between 1976 and 1979 the Press published Washington's diary in six volumes. Beginning in 1983, the Press began publishing the correspondence volumes in 5 series. These volumes include not only Washington's letters and other papers but also all letters written to him. Please visit The Papers of George Washington website for more information about the University of Virginia's Washington project.

  • Diaries (1748-1799) 6 vols.
  • Colonial Series (1744-1775) 10 vols.
  • Revolutionary War Series (1775-1783). The Revolutionary War Series is currently in progress.
  • Confederation Series (1784-1788) 6 vols.
  • Presidential Series (1788-1797) The Presidential Series is currently in progress.
  • Retirement Series (1797-1799) 4 vols.

The best source for Washington material that the University of Virginia has yet to publish is John C. Fitzpatrick's The Writings of George Washington. Fitzpatrick completed this 39 volume collection in 1940. Please note that Fitzpatrick's edition only includes Washington's outgoing correspondence and does not include letters received by Washington.

For the official papers of Washington during his Presidency, see James Richardson's Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents. This retrospective compilation was published in several different editions. The final edition was published in 1918 in 20 volumes. This edition covers the Presidencies of Washington through Taft and includes a significant portion of Wilson's Presidency. The contents of the Compilation are typically limited to official proclamations, addresses, and messages.

← American President front page