Miller Center

Miller Center Foundation Board of Directors

The Miller Center Foundation was established in 1987 to support the work of the Center and function as an ambassador to the public on behalf of its initiatives and programs. The Foundation is governed by its Board of Directors.

Joseph R. Gladden, Jr.

Joseph R. Gladden, Jr., Chair, is a former executive with The Coca-Cola Company. As executive vice president & general counsel at the time of his retirement from a 16-year career there, Gladden had responsibility for the worldwide legal function of the company. Before joining Coca-Cola in 1985, Gladden spent 17 years with the law firm King & Spalding. An alumnus of the University of Virginia School of Law, Mr. Gladden has an LLB degree and is on the board of directors of the Atlanta Ballet and the University of Virginia Health Services Foundation.

Claire W. Gargalli

Claire W. Gargalli, Vice-Chair, is a retired corporate and international banking executive. She previously served as vice chairman and partner at Diversified Search Companies in Philadelphia, and as president, chief operating officer, and director of Equimark Corporation. Ms. Gargalli is a member of the boards of Baker Hughes, Inc., Praxair, Inc., and UNOVA, Inc., and she is a trustee emeritus of Middlebury College and Carnegie Mellon University.

Eugene V. Fife

Eugene V. Fife, is a former partner at Goldman Sachs and a founding principal of Vawter Capital LLC, a private equity firm established in Charlottesville. He currently serves as the non-executive chairman of Eclipsys Corporation and as a board member of Caterpillar, Inc. Mr. Fife has also been a member of the University of Virginia Medical Center's operating board since 2002..

Judith Richards Hope

Judith Richards Hope is distinguished visitor from practice and professor of law at Georgetown University Law Center. She began her legal practice with the Washington law firm Williams & Connolly and, from 1981 through 2005, was a partner in and senior advisor to the international law firm Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker LLP. Mrs. Hope has held faculty appointments at Harvard Law School, the University of Richmond, and Pepperdine University. She is a graduate of Wellesley College and the Harvard Law School.

Daniel P. Jordan

Daniel P. Jordan is president emeritus of the Thomas Jefferson Foundation, Inc. and partner at Bryan & Jordan Consulting, LLC. From 1985 to 2008, he headed the Thomas Jefferson Foundation and was a “scholar in residence” at the University of Virginia. He is the author of three books, including Political Leadership in Jefferson’s Virginia, as well as more than 80 articles, essays, and reviews. Mr. Jordan received his BA (English and history) and MA (history) from the University of Mississippi, and his PhD (history) from the University of Virginia.

George K. Martin

George K. Martin, ex-officio, is Rector of the University of Virginia’s Board of Visitors and managing partner of the Richmond office of McGuire Woods. He practices construction, commercial real estate, and local government law. He has represented public and private entities on numerous real estate projects, including construction, acquisition, and disposition of real property, and redevelopment and adaptive re-use. He has more than 20 years of experience handling construction-related transactions, including joint ventures, public-private partnerships, and project finance transactions. 

James S. Matteo

James S. Matteo is associate vice president and treasurer at U.Va. and serves as the designee of University President Teresa A. Sullivan on the Miller Center’s Governing Council. Prior to joining the University in 2005, he worked for 14 years for PPL Corporation, a Fortune 500 global energy company. Mr. Matteo serves on the board of the Treasury Institute for Higher Education, on the advisory board for the NACUBO/Commonfund Study of Endowments, and as a member of the NACUBO Awards Council. He is an alumnus of Pennsylvania State University (BS) and Moravian College (MBA).

Alan Murray

Alan Murray is president of the Pew Research Center. He is formerly assistant managing editor and executive editor, online, of the Wall Street Journal. He returned to the Journal in 2005 after serving as Washington bureau chief and co-host of the program Capital Report on the cable financial news channel CNBC. Mr. Murray joined the Wall Street Journal in 1983 as a reporter covering economics in Washington and became bureau chief in 1993.

Leonard W. Sandridge

Leonard W. Sandridge is former executive vice president and COO of U.Va. and CFO of the Board of Visitors. He serves as designee on the Miller Center’s Governing Council of University Rector George K. Martin. Mr. Sandridge joined the university in 1967 as a member of the internal audit staff and served the next 44 years in positions of progressive responsibility under five university presidents. He received his BS from the University of Richmond and MS from U.Va. He is a member of the board of the Charlottesville Area Community Foundation and the Charlottesville Free Clinic, and a trustee of the University of Richmond.

Teresa A. Sullivan

Teresa A. Sullivan, ex-officio, became the eighth president of the University of Virginia on August 1, 2010. Before joining the University, she served as provost and executive vice president for academic affairs at the University of Michigan from 2006 to 2010. Dr. Sullivan also served as executive vice chancellor for academic affairs for the University of Texas System from 2002 to 2006. She has held teaching positions at the University of Texas at Austin, the University of Chicago, and the University of Texas Law School. A graduate of James Madison College at Michigan State University, Dr. Sullivan received her doctorate in sociology from the University of Chicago.

Elsie W. Thompson

Elsie W. Thompson, a graduate of the University of Virginia's School of Law, is an attorney and partner in the Charlottesville law firm of Thompson & Thompson. She is an active community leader who has served as a former president of the Paramount Theatre Foundation and the Piedmont Council for the Arts. She is also the treasurer of the board of directors for the Virginia Chamber Music Foundation.

Miller Center Staff

Jeff Chidester, Corporate Secretary